balls

14 Nov
Today I went down to reception to pick up a parcel, as I tend to be asked to do. It was addressed to someone in the office who doesn’t usually receive parcels, and it was quite large and more than usually heavy. I stomped my way through the corridors with it, up the three flights of stairs to the office (I could take the lift, but how am I ever going to get toned legs if I don’t make some effort?) and put it on the recipient’s desk. It had been clunking alarmingly all the way. Given that we deal with a lot of very valuable electronic goods this was slightly concerning to me. I watched the package with some trepidation from my own desk, while I was pretending to do some work.
When the mystery package’s addressee returned to the office a little while later, he looked at the large, well-sealed box and exclaimed ‘aha! I know what this is’. He then picked it up and SHOOK it. I winced a bit. He sliced open the box with a pair of scissors and pulled out – a boule. And another. There were a couple of boxes of them, in fact, and little holders to go with them. He said ‘look, it’s a boule grid array’. That’s a technological joke. A Ball Grid Array is a type of chip that goes on a circuit board, and it’s basically the reason that the company I work for exists. Hilarious. Anyway, he seemed very pleased to have received his boules and has put them away to take home.
That’s my job. Boule-ferrier, Booker of Meeting Rooms, Corrector of Grammar.
It’s not even 3pm yet so I may have more to say before the day is out. ‘Til then, may your boules land close to your jack and may your semicolons be correctly placed. Adieu.
say something too

